2013 YA Superlative Blogfest – Best in Show

C2013 Button

Thanks, SO MUCH, to Jessica Love, Alison Miller, Tracey Neithercott, and Katy Upperman for hosting this very fun blogging event. If I don’t blog for months, I still try to participate in this blogfest because I very much enjoy those women, and, I also want to do my part to promote great YA. Thanks, ladies!

Thursday, December 19th: Best in Show

Favorite Cover:
Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith



Cutest Couple(s):

Callie & Alex | Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller
Anna & Bennett | Time After Time by Tamara Ireland Stone
Cath & Levi | Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Josh & Nastya | The Sea of Tranquility
Will & Zoe | Nobody But Us by Kristin Halbrook

Most Likely to Succeed (Pick a Printz Winner.):
I don’t believe I’ve read a book that will win, sadly. I don’t really know what the criteria is or how it’s selected! Perhaps I should just go back and read some previous winners. 🙂 Check out the current and past winners, here.

Most Likely to Make You Miss Your Bedtime (Book you couldn’t put down.):
Winger | Andrew Smith

Best Repeat Performance (Favorite sequel or follow-up.):
Crown of Midnight | Sarah J. Maas

Favorite Finale or End of Series Novel:
Time After Time | Tamara Ireland Stone
**Let me just say that I’ve been avoiding starting news series when and where I can. So, I think this is one of the only ends of a series that I read! I don’t even know if I can say it was my favorite, but it was… effective?

Romance Most Worthy of an Ice Bath:
Wren & Charlie | The Infinite Moment of Us
Crown of Midnight
Callie & Alex | Where the Stars Still Shine

Breakout Novel (Your favorite book by a debut author.):
The Sea of Tranquility | Katja Millay
Check out Katja talking about her publishing journey. It’s pretty amazing!


Best Old-Timer (Your favorite read of the year published BEFORE 2013.):
This is Not a Test | Courtney Summers
The Great Gatsby | F. Scott Fitzgerald


Book Most Likely to Make a Grown Man Cry:

Winger | Andrew Smith


Most Pleasant Surprise (Book you didn’t think you’d like, but totally did.):
Dare You To | Katie McGarry
This is a bit of a stretch because I liked Pushing the Limits, but didn’t love it. So, I was a little tepid about starting Dare You To. I ended up loving Dare You To!

Most Creative Use of a Love Triangle:
False Sight | Dan Krokos
All Our Yesterdays | Cristin Terrill

Sleeper Hit (Book you found so awesome you wish it had been hyped more.)
Nobody But Us | Kristin Holbrook
Golden | Jessi Kirby


Favorite Outlier (Favorite picture, middle grade, or adult 2013 book):
I read a bunch of New Adult outside YA and it’s hard to say which one was my favorite! I think Unteachable by Leah Raeder was extremely well written and Sneaking Candy by Lisa Burstein was hilarious! Both broke the NA mold in different ways for me.
Required Reading – which series do you think I *have* to start in 2014?
Across the Universe series by Beth Revis
Under the Never Sky series by Veronica Rossi
Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor
Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi
The Selection series by Kiera Cass
Delirium series by Lauren Oliver
Something I don’t even know about, yet?
15 Comments

Filed under Bookish, Review, YA Superlative Blogfest

15 responses to “2013 YA Superlative Blogfest – Best in Show

  1. I love the covers you chose! I’d say go with Daughter of Smoke and Bone. You’ll love it.

  2. Ooh fun category. My vote is Across The Universe, because I loved that series, and it’s all wrapped up now so you can read them in one sitting. I also vote for Under The Never Sky, and I think the third one comes out in January.

    • Nice! I actually have the first two for the AtU series on my Kindle, and, I have the last two for the Rossi series in e-arc form. It’s nice when I already have them in possession! 😉

  3. Ooo, great final category! You and I both picked GOLDEN as under-hyped, and we had some of the same favourite covers, too! And I agree 100% with your pick for best sequel. (I chose that one too.)

  4. WINGER! I have heard such amazing things about that book over the course of the blogfest. Clearly it’s one I need to read ASAP. As far as series you should start next… I’ve read Across the Universe series by Beth Revis,
    Under the Never Sky series by Veronica Rossi, Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by Laini Taylor, and the Delirium series by Lauren Oliver. They are ALL amazing. Looks like you know what you’ll be doing for the next few months. 🙂

  5. You NEED to read Laini Taylor’s books! They’re awesome!

  6. 100 percent DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE. My second pick would be UNDER THE NEVER SKY, but really none of those top DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE.

  7. Since I haven’t read any of the series mentioned I’ll suggest The Girl of Fire and Thorns Series by Rae Carson, if you haven’t read it. Love it so much!

  8. CROWN OF MIDNIGHT is worthy of an ice bath?! Oh my goodness, when will this book get in my hands?! I love your cover choices. I need to read THE INFINITE MOMENT OF US, THE SEA OF TRANQUILITY, and TIME BETWEEN US. As for what series you should read…The Selection and Shatter Me (I can’t choose!). They’re both favorites! Also, I’m going to DM you something about The Selection on Twitter. (:

  9. Alison Miller

    Your question is a tough one, but I’m going to say the Delirium series. The first book was okay, but the other two? Whoa.

    And yes – love the cover for This is What Happy Looks Like. Must read!

  10. Under the Never Sky is amazing, so my vote is that. Shatter Me is really good, especially if you’re looking for something steamier. Be wary of The Selection – it’s addictive, but total brain candy and lacks logic if you think about it too hard. (I haven’t been able to put either of the books out so far down, though, so there’s that.)

    • Hahaha, I love your description of the The Selection series. 😉 Sometimes we’re up for the brain candy, right? Thanks for the recommendations with descriptions!

Leave a Reply

