Wordstock 2013

Happy Holidays, Friends! It always takes me a little time to reflect upon Wordstock, Portland’s Festival of Words. I had another great year there, although my role was more than just “reader parked in front of the YA stage listening to amazing authors.”

Lisa

I finally got Lisa Burstein’s signature in my copy of DEAR CASSIE! SNEAKING CANDY is a great NA by Lisa, coming out December 9th!

This year was different from my Wordstock experience last year because this year I was a volunteer! I was posted at the YA Signing Stage on Saturday, which was perfect except that I didn’t actually get to hear any authors talk. Lot of signage, though, and when authors like Stephanie Perkins were hanging out in the lobby in front of the signing table, I got to chat them up and get my books signed. 🙂 But I missed the author talks–that’s definitely my favorite.

Stephanie

The adorable Stephanie Perkins, who was a moderator for the YA Contemp stage.

Contemporaries

Miranda Kenneally, Corey Ann Haydu, me, Stephanie Perkins and Gayle Forman–YA Contemp Romance ROCK STARS. I really wish I’d heard this panel.

Panel

A fun panel, moderated by Jessica Brody. I am most familiar with and was most excited about Maggie Stiefvater and Dan Krokos. This panel did not disappoint. Stiefvater sort of commandeered the microphone for the first half.

MaggieStiefvater

Maggie Stiefvater was so true to what I expected: smart, fun, intriguing, and engaging! I am such a big fan of THE RAVEN BOYS. PS that’s my new Romeo and Juliet scarf.

Day 2 (Sunday) was super quiet for me because I didn’t feel well and was part of the Mainstage signing table in the main Book Fair expo hall room. I ended up leaving at the conclusion of my volunteer shift.
Nametag

PortlandCollage
I think that next year I will be a participant on Saturday and a volunteer on Sunday. My husband and I love visiting Portland and going to Powells, seeing the sights, eating great food, etc. so this festival is a marriage of many things that I enjoy. The next festival will actually be in March 2015 and at Portland State University. If you would like more information on Wordstock (you can receive email newsletters, etc.) you might follow on Twitter, or, visit their website! They have events and workshops throughout the year for teachers, emerging writers, established writers, and everything in between, so check them out!

1 Comment

Filed under Book Event, Bookish, Review, Uncategorized

One response to “Wordstock 2013

  1. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey 2013 | Keep Calm and Kari On

Leave a Reply

