YA Highway, in all its awesomeness!


YA Highway
is a wonderful blog dedicated to supporting writers in the Young Adult community. There are many great features, including Road Trip Wednesdays, Field Trip Fridays, The YA Bookmobile (book club), etc. I mean, I’m not even a writer and I enjoy a number of their features and posts. This summer YA Highway celebrates it’s fourth year and they are celebrating with a huge giveaway!

This gives me the perfect opportunity to blog about the very cool authors that I got to see back on March 12th in Shelton, WA! While holding a writing retreat, these women took time out of their busy (and maybe a little fun/entertaining?) schedule to share with readers about their writing, inspiration, and really all things bookish. It was a very great event, and while I had read Roth’s books and one by Keplinger, this turned me on to awesome books by Kirsten Hubbard and Kristin Halbrook. I finished Halbrook’s Nobody But Us before the event and was in-progress with Wanderlove by Hubbard when March 12th rolled around.

3-YAH-signing

Awesome Authors: Veronica Roth, Kirsten Hubbard, Kody Keplinger, Sumayyah Daud, Kristin Halbrook and Phoebe North

Awesome Authors: Veronica Roth, Kirsten Hubbard, Kody Keplinger, Sumayyah Daud, Kristin Halbrook and Phoebe North

These are just phenomenal authors, y’all! And, if you’ve never been able to attend any kind of book even I highly encourage you to FIND A WAY to do so. It’s so fun to see a writer discuss their process and inspiration for writing. These women are so kind and gracious, and we had been Tweeting a little before the event so they even recognized me, I think, and that’s really just awesome!

How adorable is Kristin Halbrook? I categorized Nobody But Us as a "Rip My Heart Out" book on Goodreads. It's so good!

How adorable is Kristin Halbrook? I shelved Nobody But Us as a “Rip My Heart Out” read on Goodreads. It’s so good!

And, how cute is Kirsten Hubbard? Kirsten is witty and well-traveled and writes beautifully. *wants to be BFFs*

And, how cute is Kirsten Hubbard? Kirsten is witty and well-traveled and writes beautifully. *wants to be BFFs*

Off course, I got all kinds of book signage going on at this event! Hubbard in particular quoted Empire Records, a movie we tweeted about a bit before the YA Author Showcase. :-)

Off course, I got all kinds of book signage going on at this event! Hubbard in particular quoted Empire Records, a movie we tweeted about a bit before the YA Author Showcase. 🙂

YAHwy4

I consider myself fortunate to have met this rock star before the movie (which I’m VERY excited about) hoopla really began. While we did wait in line for probably an hour to meet her, Roth was kind enough to sign a number of books and take a picture, which I don’t there there’s much time for at her other events, so again, lucky us!

Okay, kids, that’s all for now. Really, go check out YA Highway and that awesome giveaway. There’s all kinds of advice, wisdom, brainstorming opportunities, and MORE at YA Highway and it’s fun for everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under Bookish, Uncategorized

2 responses to “YA Highway, in all its awesomeness!

  1. Yay, YA Highway! Their giveaway is amazing!

    YA Highway and their Road Trip Wednesday blog hop is how I first started to meet other YA writers, and first started to get people to visit my little blog. The girls foster such an amazing sense of community — I’m so envious that you’ve gotten to meet them in person. So cool!

  2. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey 2013 | Keep Calm and Kari On

Leave a Reply

