Tuesday Tunes – Soundtrack Edition

AngI love a book that is inspired by music (Eleanor + Park, The Disenchantments, Time Between Us and Time After Time, Wild Awake) and to share some of my favorite music from favorite movies that also have killer soundtracks. So this is a movie-music post, not really book related post. You need to know that if you follow me on Twitter or are friends with me in real life, I regularly quote these movies. 🙂

These movies are listed in approximate order to when they came along in my life.


Swing Kids
– So, I was a band kid! And, I’ve always liked big band music from the 20s/30s and classical music, even. I’m kind of getting all the feels just thinking about the movie right now. I need to find this movie and watch it!
Favorite song(s): Louis Prima’s “Sing, Sing, Sing” or maybe “You Go to My Head” by J. Fred Coots and Haven Gillespie or maybe “Goodnight My Love” by Benny Goodman
Favorite lyrics (from Goodnight My Love): Good night, my love, the tired old moon is descending. / Good night, my love, my moment with you is now ending. / 
It was so heavenly, holding you close to me. / It will be heavenly to hold you again in a dream.
The stars above have promised to meet us tomorrow. / Till then, my love, how dreary the new day will seem.
So for the present, dear, we’ll have to part. / Sleep tight, my love, good night, my love, / Remember that you’re mine, sweetheart.

Sleepless in Seattle – When my dad first randomly brought this movie home from Blockbuster in ’93/’94, I was so pissed; I didn’t think I was going to like this chick flick for adults. And then I watched. And then I laughed. And then I cried. And it’s one of my all-time favorite movies! The vintage feeling soundtrack definitely contributed.
Favorite songs: Joe Cocker “Bye Bye Blackbird” or Jimmy Durante “Make Someone Happy”
Favorite lyrics (from Make Someone Happy): Fame if you win it, / Comes and goes in a minute.
Where’s the real stuff in life to cling to? / Love is the answer,
Someone to love is the answer. / Once you’ve found her, build your world around her.
Make someone happy, / Make just one someone happy, / And you will be happy, too.

Forrest Gump – This is the first soundtrack I remember purchasing and listening to beginning to end. I have always loved “oldies” music and classic rock and of course each song brought images of the movies back into my mind. Who doesn’t have a visceral reaction when they hear the score?
Favorite song: Harry Nilsson’s “Everybody’s Talkin'”
Favorite lyrics (from Everybody’s Talkin’): “I’m going where the sun keeps shining / Through the pouring rain / Going where the weather suits my clothes / Banking off of the North East winds / Sailing on a summer breeze / And skipping over the ocean like a stone”

AngusI don’t even know if people watched this movie when it came out in 1995, but my brother and I rented it on a random night and fell in love with the music. A handful of good alternative rock including Green Day and Weezer and we were sold. I’m compelled to watch Angus sometime soon, because not only is the movie based on a Chris Crutcher short story, but also because there’s a young Kevin Connolly and James VanDerBeek. And Kathy Bates. 🙂
Favorite song: Weezer’s “You Gave Your Love to Me Softly”
Favorite lyrics (from You Gave Your Love to Me Softly): “We had just one night / But it lingers on and on and on / You gave your love to me softly”

Empire Records – This fits right along with the theme of being drawn to movies about great music or that includes great music. I definitely wanted to work in a music store after this movie. 🙂 I loved Rory Cochrane’s character, Mr. Lucas, and Ethan Embry’s Mark.
Favorite song – The Meicies’ “Ready, Steady, Go” (from the shoplifter scene!) Favorite songs not on the soundtrack – AC/DC “If You Want Blood (You’ve Got It)” & Dire Straits’ “Romeo and Juliet”
Quote (from the movie): “‘Mitchell’s the man, Joe.’ ‘And the man calls all the shots.’ ‘Damn the man.'” (Do you know how many times I want to use “damn the man” with my 9th graders and have to edit myself? It fits with many themes in literature.) 🙂

Clueless – It was about this time that my best friend was into a functional membership with Columbia House–remember those?! So, she had all the latest and greatest CDs, which included soundtracks. We wore this one out! A movie about cool, beautiful high schoolers in amazing clothes set against great music? My friends and I reenacted scenes (yes, THAT was cool), listened to the music and watched the movie over and over.
Favorite song: The Muffs’ “Kids in America” or World Party’s “All the Young Dudes”
Quote (from the movie):
“‘Duh, it’s like a famous quote.’ ‘From where?’ ‘Cliff’s Notes.'”


**Romeo + Juliet – The movie’s not perfect in terms of the translation, but the music and Lurhmann’s remixes on the soundtrack are SO fun. Who doesn’t remember “Lovefool”?! Who doesn’t remember “Young Hearts Run Free?” and high kicks by Mercutio while he’s in drag!? I’m just learning there’s a 10th anniversary version of the soundtrack… might have to buy that one.
Favorite song: Quindon Tarver’s “When Doves Cry” or The Cardigans’ “Lovefool”
Quote (from Young Hearts Run Free by Kym Mazelle):
“Young hearts, to yourself be true / Don’t be no fool / When love really don’t love you”

More of my favorite retro soundtracks next Tuesday!
What are some of your favorite soundtracks?

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Tuesday Tunes

Leave a Reply

