Book Blogger Challenge (Day 5)


I am participating in the 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge, hosted by Good Books and Good Wine.

Today is Day 5, Recommend a tear jerker.

I have a feeling this will be very popular amongst the tear jerkers today, but THE tear jerker for me is The Fault in Our Stars. I have teared up with other books (mentioned below) but I legit cried with TFiOS. I participated in the YA Book Club with a post that is spoilery but you can read all about it if you’d like!

*Added 7/14: After perusing some other posts for the challenge, I remembered the first book that made me cry! In second grade my teacher made us read the end of Where the Red Fern Grows on our own, because she said it was too sad and would make her cry. As I read it silently in class, I totally teared up and I remember thinking my teacher was smart to have us read it on our own.

Other books that caused me to get teary:
The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler
Dare You To by Katie McGarry
Nobody But Usย by Kristin Halbrook
A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers
The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells
*Added 7/14:ย Deadline by Chris Crutcher

What book has made you cry? (I need some recs!) ย 

15 Comments

Filed under 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge, Bookish

15 responses to “Book Blogger Challenge (Day 5)

  1. TFIOS is definitely going to be a popular one!

  2. I totally forgot about The Divine Secrets. I cried during both the book and the movie.

  3. TFIOS for sure made me cry. Had to put that one down a few times. And so did Heartbreaking Work, but oddly at the beginning more than at the end. I posted my Top 5 tearjerkers today and literally got teary just writing about them. One that randomly popped into my head from high school was Bridge to Terabithia. LIKE A BABY.

  4. I have heard so many great things about John Green’s Fault in our Stars, I think I will definitely have to pick it up now. If a book can make another cry, it must be good.

    Day 5 Challenge Post

    • John Green is just pretty masterful. I don’t know how he combines heart, character, story, humor, and tears all in one, but he does! I’ve read three of his books and this is my favorite. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I haven’t read TFIOS, yet. I keep hearing really good things, but something just stops me from trying out John Green’s books. Maybe because he’s SO popular? Idk. I have The Book of Broken Hearts, though, so I’ll have to try it out soon!

    -Nichole
    http://www.yareads.com

    • I can understand that…I’m afraid of a book with a lot of hype, and John Green has a lot of hype surrounding him. Maybe start with one that is less popular (I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson, which he co-wrote with David Levithan) and THEN read TFiOS and Looking for Alaska.

  6. And I … have read none of those. >.< FAIL. BUT I do now own the fault in our stars. Waiting till I need a good cry though.

    • Reading through other posts I saw people mention Deadline by Chris Crutcher–that was another good one that caused me to tear up. Bonus points for having a male mc and written by a male since I read SO MUCH YA contemp written by females!

  7. It is common knowledge that I am NOT a book-crier. Not even TFIOS got me. I did, however, bawl like a baby while reading STONE FOX. Also, Sara Zarr’s HOW TO SAVE A LIFE and Melina Marchetta’s JELLICOE ROAD *almost* made me teary. Those goodbyes at the end… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  8. Oh damn, I know I need to read The Fault in our Stars but I’m truly shying away from it… I don’t know, maybe I’m scared a little…

    • I definitely understand that! I think you’d be happy once you read it, though. You’d be part of the “conversation” and before the movie comes out. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

