Book Blogger Challenge (Day 4)


I am participating in the 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge, hosted by Good Books and Good Wine.

Today is Day 4, What’s the last book you flung across the room?

I can’t really recall any extreme frustration with a book. I think I’m a pretty even-keeled reader and since I’m not really a book blogger, I select books I’m pretty sure I’m going to like. I chatted with Nikki at  Take Me Away: A Book Blog and she suggested talking about a book that wasn’t the Happily Ever After that I expected.

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen – So much hype surrounds Dessen, which I DO understand, but I’ve only read one other Dessen book (Along for the Ride) which I really liked. I know that there’s a lot of die-hard Dessen fans out there and after two reads, I can’t say I’m one of them. Dessen liker, yes. Dessen lover, no. She’s awesome to follow on Twitter and I do have This Lullaby handy to read sometime, because I know that there’s “hype” for a reason. 🙂

Uses for Boys by Erica Lorraine Scheidt- I expected this book to be a happily ever after YA contemp and while it was a YA contemp it was a gritty tale with a kind of stream-of-consciousness prose. That’s not really a style I flock to, and I think since my expectations were high/different, I was caught off guard.

Fathomless by Jackson Pearce – I wanted to really like this book. Fairy Tale retelling! Mermaids! Beautiful cover! Plus, Pearce is very personable and entertaining in real life and on Twitter. I haven’t read anything else from Pearce so maybe I would like one of her other novels more? I understand that the actual “little mermaid” fairy tale is quite dark and sad, and while I felt that in Pearce’s book, I didn’t feel like the characters were very rich and likable.

Being Friends With Boys by Terra Elan McVoy – I’m always fascinated by girls/women who are friends with boys and I thought, a book about THEM–those kinds of girls! But, it really fell flat. I didn’t feel like the main focus WAS Charlotte’s friendships with Oliver and Trip, as there were many other mini-storylines. And of course, there’s a romantic relationship that develops and I just kept thinking that it wasn’t necessary if it was about friendships.

None of these books were BAD, they just weren’t for me.

How about you–ever fling a book in frustration? 

9 Comments

Filed under 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge, Bookish

9 responses to “Book Blogger Challenge (Day 4)

  1. “that is not my drink ” oh man that is just too perfect ! A great way to explain that feeling lol. I dont have day 4 up yet, but I’ve got 1-3 ! Thepassionatebookworm.Blogspot.com

  2. Yay than for the shoutout! I’m glad I could help! And I really need to get on reading some Sarah Dessen! I have two of her books on my shelf and haven’t read either one smh

  3. I’m not a huge Dessen fan either. I’ve only read one of her books, Dreamland, when I was taking a YA Lit class in graduate school, and I havne’t wanted to read anymore. I think I will try one more of hers, though. I’m thinking Just Listen.

  4. Kari I’ve only ever read one Sarah Dessen books and I can’t even recall what that was called, something about a Lock and Key LOL and whilst it was enjoyable it wasn’t ALL THAT it was crack up to be 😦

    What a pity that you didn’t enjoy Fathomless, I really liked Sisters Red which is the first book in Jackson Pearce’s Fairytale retelling series and I’m looking forward to reading Sweetly, Fathomless and the soon to be released one too. Check out Sisters Red and see if you enjoy that better 😉

    Day 3 & 4 Blogger Challenge

    • I will totally try again. I just started The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater and she dedicates the book to Jackson…I mean, there’s too much awesomeness there for me not to connect to her books, right!? 😉 I look forward to seeing what you think of Fathomless!

Leave a Reply

