Book Blogger Challenge (Day 2 on Day 3)


I am participating in the 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge, hosted by Good Books and Good Wine. Today is actually Day 3 of the challenge, but I don’t really have book blogger BFFs. 😉

Okay, I take that back. You should always follow/check-out/trust the recommendations of Katy Upperman and Jessica Love. Both are actually writers but have a fierce love for YA  and Kid Lit. They are both also Bookanistas. They are both also operatives at YA Confidential. They are both also AWESOME.

Today I’m covering Day 2, What’s Your Bedtime Reading Ritual?

My husband is a light sleeper. This means I cannot stay up until all hours of the night reading a hard copy book with the lamp on. However, my Kindle Paperwhite changed the whole game!

I am a night owl reader during the summer and other school vacations. I take that time that I have off and read like crazy. With the added activity of house renovation (Repair? Improvement?) I don’t have time to read during the day this summer, so I read fervently before bed. With my back-lit Kindle I can read in bed all night if I want, because the light isn’t too harsh for my husband. This is particularly handy when I can’t sleep–you know, when the mind is running and sleep just isn’t happening. I’ll read a couple of chapters from a manuscript or from the book I’m hooked to, so long as it’s on my Kindle.

I rarely, if ever, stop reading mid-chapter. I have to complete a chapter before I put a book down for the night. 🙂

During the school year I live a crazy life and go to bed at like 9/9:30 so I don’t typically read before bed, unless the husband does and I will read as long as he does.

What is your ritual for bedtime reading? 

2 Comments

Filed under 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge, Bookish

2 responses to “Book Blogger Challenge (Day 2 on Day 3)

  1. I am loving all these blog posts, Kari! And thanks for the shout-out. I concur: Jess does have fabulous taste (as do you!). I read pretty much every night before bed too. I used to watch TV, but I find I sleep better when I read before turning out the lights. If I’m really into a book, I have no problem staying up half the night to finish.

    Looking forward to tomorrow’s post, friend!

Leave a Reply

