YA Superlative Blogfest – Best in Show

class-of-2012-banner


This has been really fun for discovering new books and finding new people to chat it up with on Twitter. Thanks to Jessica Love, Alison Miller, Tracey Neithercott, and Katy Upperman for hosting!

Okay, I worked really hard to pick one book per category. But, since the goal of this blogfest is to highlight great YA, again, sorry, I’m not sorry for listing more than one at times. 😉

Thursday, December 20th: Best in Show


Favorite Cover: 
The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith



Cutest Couple:
Anna & Bennett in Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone
Honorable Mentions: Augustus and Hazel in The Fault in Our Stars, Samantha and Jase in My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick, Gray and Dylan in First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky


Most Likely to Succeed (pick a Printz winner):
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
I can’t even write any more about how I love this book and why people should read it.


Most Likely to Make You Miss Your Bedtime:
Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
I miss my bedtime thanks to MANY books, but this one was a (cliché alert!) total page turner. 😉


Best Repeat Performance (sequel or follow-up)Insurgent by Veronica Roth
I just really love these books. And really love Tris and Four. Okay, I really, really love Four. And can’t wait to find out what happens next. 🙂


Favorite Finale or End of Series:
Reached by Ally Condie
This is the only series finale I read (thanks, authors!) but it was definitely satisfying. It wasn’t my favorite of the series, however.


Romance Most Worthy of an Ice BathEasy by Tammara Webber
Because it was classified as YA in the Goodreads Best Books survey, I’m calling this, here. Try and stop me!


Best Breakout (novel by a debut author): Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone and False Memory by Dan Krokos
Both great for different reasons, but great and second read-worthy! False Sight and a second Anna and Bennett book come out this year (squeeeeeeee)!



Best Old Timer (favorite read of the year published before 2012):
Sloppy Firsts (really, the whole Jessica Darling series) by Megan McCafferty
Honorable Mention:
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver and Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
If you’ve read any of these books you probably understand why they are all 5 stars on my Goodreads. Click on the titles to see my reviews. I just loves them!


Most Likely to Make a Grown Man Cry:
 The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Duh. It takes a lot for a book to even make me cry, and this one had me in full-on, snotty, ugly cry.


Most Pleasant Surprise (book I liked that I wasn’t sure about):
Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay
This mostly stems from my insecurity about reading a verse novel–I didn’t realize it was one when I downloaded it and almost didn’t read it, as such. But, I was hooked early on reading about the Marcie’s family problems and being transplanted from Idaho and her missing her friends.


Most Creative Use of a Love Triangle: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
I am a little ashamed to say the reason I initially picked up TRB was because David Levithan mentioned a love triangle was present. Then I read the book and thought… huh, there’s not really a love triangle (yet). I think the way this love triangle has been revealed so far is masterful.


Sleeper Hit (book I loved and wish had been hyped more): Every Day by David Levithan
I didn’t think a David Levithan book could be a sleeper but based on the feedback from today’s post I think it is flying under the radar. Read it!


Favorite Outlier (Middle Grade or Adult of 2012): Easy by Tammara Webber and Losing It by Cora Carmack
They’re baaaack! They’re either super upper YA, crossover adult fiction, or New Adult (NA). No matter what, I really like both these novels. And, I didn’t read any MGs or Adult Fiction this year!? OH WAIT, I did read Why Is Everybody Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling and laughed my ass off. I am a Jonathan Tropper fan as well and haven’t read his latest (and need to) and didn’t read any of his others this year–I read THREE in 2011. 🙂

My Category
Most Likely to Succeed in 2013 (otherwise known as the 2013 book you’re most excited to read this year–I’m working on that TBR list!)

Thanks for stopping by! I am horrible about blogging but have found a good blogfest keeps me honest (or consistent or whatever) so please let me know if you guys find others that you think I might enjoy. 🙂

27 Comments

Filed under Bookish, Review, YA Superlative Blogfest

27 responses to “YA Superlative Blogfest – Best in Show

  1. Definitely agree with you on Insurgent. I couldn’t put it down. I’m also happy to see False Memory getting some love!

    • I am dying to read FALSE SIGHT and I know there are ARCs out there. I’ve just been stalking NetGalley in the hopes that the e-galleys pop up soon. I thought that was a really well-rounded book, you know (a little bit of everything for every reader)? 🙂

  2. I haven’t read PUSHING THE LIMITS, but it does sound pretty darn good! I wasn’t sure where to list EASY, so I put it as one of my outliers. LOSING IT is on my Kindle too, so I think I’ll be getting to that one fairly soon.

    I had no idea that Tamara Ireland Stone was writing a sequel to TIME BETWEEN US! Thanks for the heads up. 🙂

    • YES–how fun is that?! She mentioned it at Wordstock and I can’t remember the released date–maybe the fall? She’s very active and gracious on Twitter. 🙂

      If you liked EASY I think you’ll love PUSHING THE LIMITS and LOSING IT. If LOSING IT was handy for me, I would pick it up NEXT! 😉

  3. Let’s see–on my Goodreads TBR, almost all the 2013 books are sequels/series books, but there’s one that isn’t that I’m really excited for. It’s called STARGLASS and it’s by Phoebe North, one of the bloggers at the Intergalactic Academy. It looks like my favorite thing–sci-fi with dystopian elements. I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  4. I really, really need to jump on the NA bandwagon, because Easy and Losing It sound AWESOME.

    I’m super excited for Requiem by Lauren Oliver and Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi. I pre-ordered both of them as soon as they were available 🙂

    • Gotta love a pre-order! It’s like Christmas throughout the year! 😉

      People seem to be all over the place with the NA thing, although publishers are getting on board so I’m leaning toward embracing it! I have to say, though, that it’s dominated heavily by contemporary romance so I look forward to seeing what other genres might pop up. I think 2013 will be big for NA.

      • Yes! I think part of the reason I haven’t read so NA is because I’m not super into contemporary. But a couple of my CPs wrote NA manuscripts – epic fantasy and superheroes (separately, not together, ha) – so the potential is definitely there to broaden it.

      • Good to know! I think 2013 will be a big year for NA whether people in the pub world like it or not. 🙂

    • Oh, I also recommend, then, FLAT-OUT LOVE. It’s an NA standard. 🙂

  5. Well, the book I’m most anticipating in 2013 is the sequel to THE RAVEN BOYS, but I have to wait too long for that one so I’ll go with REQUIEM – since it comes out earlier and I’m dying to read that too!

    Great picks! Have a wonderful holiday! So glad you could join us for the blogfest!

  6. As you know I loved EASY, LOSING IT and FLAT OUT LOVE, what other NA would you recommend? 😀
    And…Pushing the limits made me miss my bedtime too…
    It was so fun seeing everybody´s lists! My TBR grew so much!

    • Oh and the 2013 releases I can´t wait to get my hands on:
      Isla and the Happily Ever After (Stephanie Perkins), Fault Line (Christa Desir), Shades of Earth (Beth Revis), Nobody but us (Kristin Halbrook)
      Level 2 (Lenore Appelhans), Taken (Erin Bowman), The sequel of The Raven Boys (Maggie Stiefvater), The Madman´s Daughter (Megan Sheperd)
      ….and So many more…
      Okay I´m stopping now…

      • Soooo many good books you’re anticipating (and I was thinking ME, TOO for many of them). I have Nobody But Us and Taken on my Kindle. I just need more time to read all these great books!

    • I will ask the NAers during the NA Lit Chat tonight–they have great recs. Have you read LOVE STORY by Jennifer Echols? These are all contemp romances, of course. Someone also recommended, although I haven’t read it yet, MY FAVORITE MISTAKE by Chelsea Cameron and it’s on my TBR. 🙂

  7. ALL of your old-timer picks are some of my favorite books EVER.

    MarcusFlutieMarcusFlutieMarcusFlutie!!!!

    • YES, love Marcus Flutie! Those books are like YA classics. I don’t know if they’ll even be out of style or if people will ever stop recommending them. 🙂

  8. Rebecca B

    I love the cover for FIRST COMES LOVE! Hadn’t seen that before. Great picks for old-timer–I haven’t read SLOPPY FIRSTS, but I’ve been meaning to forever.

    • I had never heard of FIRST COMES LOVE but I saw the author at Wordstock in Portland and she talked about how there was kissing in it and all the good stuff, so of course I was hooked. The original cover is actually pretty horrible. Kacvinsky mentioned it looked like it could be a vampire book when it takes place in the AZ summer. 😉 She also read from the sequel and as soon as it was released (e-pub) I snatched it up. They are pretty short books and pretty great! I highly recommend the SLOPPY FIRSTS books–classics!

  9. I’m looking forward to SO MANY in 2013… SHADES OF EARTH, REQUIEM, DIVERGENT 3, JUST ONE DAY… Too many to list! And I think I’m going to have to read EASY soon. I’ve heard great things about it. 🙂

    • Is REQUIEM part of the PANDEMONIUM business (was the first one DELIRIUM?). I need to do more of this jumping on a series bandwagon when they’re done or almost done. It’s ideal. 🙂

  10. I’m excited for Robin Benway’s new book ALSO KNOWN AS. I have it waiting for me on my ereader thanks to NetGalley, and now that I’m done with these 2012 books I can get to it!

  11. Yes! I’m happy to hear there will be a sequel to TIME BETWEEN US. I loved that book. As for 2013 books, I feel like there are 17 million I absolutely can’t wait for. I pretty much need to take a yearlong sabbatical to make time to read them all.

    • I wonder if my school would get on board with a reading sabbatical! It’s school related, right? 😉 Tracey, I’m still trying to figure out how to comment on your posts, but I’ve been looking! I’m not a great techie and my computer is not helping!

Leave a Reply

