YA Superlative Blogfest – Popularity Contest

class-of-2012-banner


The YA Superlative Blogfest is hosted by Jessica Love, Alison Miller, Tracey Neithercott, and Katy Upperman. The goal of the blogfest is to promote and share extraordinary young adult novels (and have fun, of course).

Tuesday, December 18th: Popularity Contest

Class Clown – Gus in The Fault in Our Stars
As my friend Katy mentioned, if Gus can make you laugh through cancer, that conquers all!

Most Likely to Become a Rock Star – Bev, Meg & Alexa in The Disenchantments
We know they weren’t great, but I think a girl band with a lot of charm can go a long way.

Mostly Likely to Start a Riot – Tris in Insurgent
It may be rooted in principal or her best intentions, but Tris can incite or easily be part of a riot against the man. Or woman. Whoever might be in charge (and who knows at this point!?).

Biggest Flirt – Jason in Meant to Be
I’m only 42% through the book and his friendly banter-flirting is kind of endearing. 🙂

Fashion King and/or Queen – Alexa/Meg in The Disenchantments
I can’t totally remember if it’s one or both of them, but I think one of the sisters was even more unique with colorful hair and fun outfits? I remember thinking the whole band was pretty unique, actually.

I also think I love Phoebe’s fashion references in Meant to Be–I mean, a 90s Dick Tracey T? I LOVED that movie!

Girl You’d Most Want For Your BFF  – Anna in Time Between Us
Anna is just so down-to-earth and relatable for me. Plus, she gets to time travel, listen to great music, be with Bennett, and help fix my life if I mess up!

Boy You Wish You’d Dated in High School – Four in Insurgent or Xander in Reached or Bennett in Time Between Us
I don’t know that any of these guys needs much explanation. Four = strong, thoughtful, caring when you’re dismissive or selfish, etc. Xander = smart, thoughtful, a doctor, and like a wonderful, loyal puppy dog. Bennett = interesting, time traveling, clever concert goer.

Most Likely to Become President – Four in Insurgent or Captain Westfall in Throne of Glass
I think Four has more of the instinct and chops, but the Captain… he’s well-trained and already protecting a king, so that has to translate, right?

Quirkiest Character – Julia in Meant to Be
Again, I’m not done with this one, yet, but Julia is smart and klutzy and sarcastic and interesting. And like any well written character, this all makes her interesting and charming. 🙂

Villain You Love to Hate – Ronan in The Raven Boys
Ronan is one of those mysterious, smouldering, brooding guys that I don’t think I’m supposed to like, but I do. And the fact that his buddies stick around and protect him says something to me.

Favorite Parental Figure – Mom and Dad in TFiOS
I don’t even know if they had names! But watching them care for and struggle with Hazel’s illness felt authentic and painful and lovely and just REAL. Young Adult has a lot of absentee parents, either because they’re just not interesting or they’re at work, etc. and Green wrote a great pair for fragile Hazel.

Coolest Nerd – Gansey in The Raven Boys
He seems like a hybrid of a lot of great things (see my excessive use of conjunctions in the previous character descriptions) but at the heart seems to be a thinker and explorer. All of this makes him come off pretty studly, actually, but that just makes him a cool nerd, I think. 🙂

Keep tuning in, folks! I will be doing my best to continue participating throughout the week:
Wednesday, December 19th: Elements of Fiction
Thursday, December 20: Best in Show

24 Comments

Filed under Bookish, Review, YA Superlative Blogfest

24 responses to “YA Superlative Blogfest – Popularity Contest

  1. I love MEANT TO BE 😀 And you are so right about your first choice on Class Clown…such a sweet and wonderful one too!

    • Well I was thinking Jason in Meant to Be for Class Clown, even though I haven’t finished it and wanted to incorporate Gus somewhere. Katy was helpful in the realization that Gus does make life pretty good even in the bleakest case!

  2. Gansey is totally a cool nerd! I listed him under that category too. 🙂 I keep seeing THE DISENCHANTMENTS on superlatives lists. I think I need to read that one finally.

    • You should definitely read it! It involved a northwest road trip, right in the area where I live when they arrive in WA, so I loved that. Plus, a road trip! Plus, a VW bus! Plus, love! Plus, music! 😉

  3. I’m glad I’m not the only one who put several boys for the Boy You Wish You Dated category. 😉

  4. We have quite a few choices in common this time around… Great minds. 🙂

    • We have similar GREAT taste when it comes to reading so I’m not surprised. I think my list is about to get more thin with the next two days (I need to read MORE books published within the year next year). 🙂

  5. I clearly really need to pick up THE DISENCHANTMENTS! That one had a strong showing yesterday but it’s all OVER the place today!

  6. I ALMOST had a few of the same choices (Tris, Hazel/Gus’ parents) and didn’t even think of Meg/Alexa for fashion choice.

    • I had to reach far into the recesses of my brain for that one–I read it early on in the year when it was released. Not as easy as when LOLA came out last year. 😉

  7. I definitely agree, Hazel’s parents were lovely 😉 Like Crystal, I didn’t think of Meg or Alexa either! They are perfect, though!

    • Green’s books are awe-inspiring for a number of reasons, but with The Fault in Our Stars there so much going on, AND he had the time to create inspirational parents with their own interesting arcs? Genius!

  8. All this The Raven Boys love is making me feel terrible for not reading it yet! lol And I love how Tris is pretty much sweeping the choice for starting a riot 😄

    • I can’t believe you haven’t read it! I am not usually big on fantasy (it’s not heavy with the magic, though) and I had never read Stiefvater, but am totally a fan of hers now. 🙂 This book is in my top 5 of the whole year.

  9. Alison Miller

    Oh, how I LOVE Gansey! And I totally picked the Lancasters as my fave parents too. Great choices!

  10. I thought about Captain Westfall, too when it came to Class President. I ended up not choosing anyone…but he sure is one of my favorite characters from Throne of Glass!

  11. I was trying to remember Hazel’s parents’ names, but come to think of it, I don’t think they were ever mentioned…glad it wasn’t just me 🙂

  12. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey 2013 | Keep Calm and Kari On

  13. Pingback: 2013 YA Superlative Blogfest – Popularity Contest | Keep Calm and Kari On

Leave a Reply

