YA Superlative Blogfest – Head(s) of the Class

Let me start out by saying that I haven’t read half as many books as I thought I did this year! Actually, I read a lot of books but some were manuscripts and some were not published in 2012. I’ve read 30 books released in 2012 and I have a feeling I’m going to be a little redundant this week, but, here goes!

class-of-2012-banner
The YA Superlative Blogfest is hosted by Jessica Love, Alison Miller, Tracey Neithercott, and Katy Upperman. The goal of the blogfest is to promote and share extraordinary young adult novels (and have fun, of course).

Can I just say that this was a bit anxiety-inducing, when one needs everything to fit into a little box like I do? This is why I’m not a writer and why I love a good blogfest (Lists! Categories! Deadlines!) but apologies in advance if I peg a book as something that it’s not intended to be. Please consider it a compliment. I liked your book. A lot.

Also, you need to know that I am HORRIBLE about making single selections. Sorry, I’m not sorry. 🙂

Monday, December 17th: Head of the Class


Favorite Dystopian – Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Dystopian Honorable Mention – Reached by Ally Condie
After The Hunger Games, I read the The Chaos Walking series. Since then, I’ve been reading the Divergent and Matched books when a new book has been released. I really, really love the characters and the dystopian world in Roth’s books. I enjoyed the plot and prose in Condie’s books.


Favorite Science Fiction – False Memory by Dan Krokos and Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone
FM is sci-fi in the traditional sense and TBU doesn’t scream sci-fi, although there’s nothing more sci-fi than time travel, right? While FM has a lot of action, both books are well written, have intricate and interesting world-building, and include intriguing romances (win-win-WIN).


Favorite Fantasy – The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Fantasy Honorable Mention – Throne of Glass
Man, I appreciate good world building and both of these books left no stone unturned. (Can you tell it’s midnight? I just threw in a huge, crappy cliche!) While TRB is set in a modern-day, realistic setting but had brilliant magic and magical worlds, ToG has assassins and castles and kings and beautiful party dresses and magic and…


Favorite Contemporary – Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, and The List by Siobhan Vivian
Honorable Mention – The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
I mean, these are all wonderful for very different reasons. LaL was sweet and got my attention early on in the year. It’s a verse novel and I had never read one and was enamored of Tregay’s verse. TFiOS, no contest. It doesn’t get more real than battling cancer while trying to find purpose, find yourself, create meaningful relationships and living with pain while also pondering your role in the universe. This novel breaks all the molds. TL has amazing teen voice. I felt like I was in my high school brain and the brains of my 9th graders. TD is about love, a road trip, and best of all, music.

Favorite Action/Adventure False Memory by Dan Krokos
Non-stop adventure! I read The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore and that action bogged me down or got old, but in FM it kept me engaged and wanting to know more, riiight into the next book, which comes out this year. 🙂

Favorite MysteryThe Raven Boys
Legitimately gave me physical reactions such as occasionally holding my breath or causing my heart rate to increase. So good.


Favorite Romance
My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick and Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols
MLND so perfectly introduced first love and a couple that you truly root for–very good contemporary. SaR… Echols… a very fun plot with yet another unique protagonist (a pilot, of all things). Echols is a YA Romance legend and she just keeps on writing and I just keep on buying her books. They’re all so unique and the common thread is great research and great kisses. 😉


Favorite Paranormal
Every Day by David Levithan and The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
I really, really, don’t know where authors come up with this stuff. In ED, the main character wakes up every day in a different body, in a different life, with different parents and hobbies and complications, except that A has fallen in love with just one girl. Throw in Levithan’s poignant (yes, I just said poignant) commentary about love and relationships, and it’s just. So. Good. I’ve fangirled enough over TRB, haven’t I?

Favorite Family DramaThe Fault in Our Stars and/or My Life Next Door
Both of these novels did not exclude parents from their plot lines. I love well written parents, both when they’re lovable as in TFiOS, or when they’re a little less likable, as in MLND. I don’t know that family drama is the central conflict in either book, but the family element adds to the drama for sure.

Favorite Genre BenderThe Raven Boys and Time Between Us
TRB
… is it fantasy, paranormal, contemporary (I mean, some people believe in magic, right?), romance?
TBU… sci-fi, paranormal, romance?
No matter what, I love them both.


Honorable Mentions – as Category (I think? Frak!) Benders – Easy by Tammara Webber and Losing it by Cora Carmack
I think the covers tell you something by themselves. But, if this New Adult business is going to fly, and I think it will (or it is?), I am in love with the college setting. That was a good time, right? And NA doesn’t disappoint in the romance department, obvi.

Abstentions: Favorite Historical Fiction & Favorite Comedy


Keep tuning in, folks! I will be doing my best to continue participating throughout the week:
Tuesday, December 18th: Popularity Contest (Choose characters who fit each topic from ANY YA book!)
Wednesday, December 19th: Elements of Fiction
Thursday, December 20: Best in Show
26 Comments

Filed under Bookish, Review, YA Superlative Blogfest

26 responses to “YA Superlative Blogfest – Head(s) of the Class

  1. Ohhh I have to recommend GILT for historical fiction 😀 I loved it!
    And like you I’ve been having issues making single selections…and for some I wasn’t quite sure where to fit them,
    We have a lot of common and all the ones I’ve mentioned that I haven’t read yet are on my TBR 😀

    • Thanks for the rec, Elodie! I look forward to seeing other historical fiction recs because it is not my thing and I trust many of the recs from people participating in the blogfest (you included!). Isn’t it so difficult to make decision and categorize these books?

  2. Augh! You got to so many that I meant to read but haven’t had time for yet! These lists are so much fun and so infuriating because there are at least ten books from people’s lists that I just want to read IMMEDIATELY.

    • When I have that inclination to read immediately, my Kindle gets me in TROUBLE. Seriously, I downloaded like four books in a last minute sprint for the blogfest and am just now cracking in (too late!). 😉

  3. Hahahaha, I love that you refused to choose! There were so many great books this year. Looooved The Disenchantments, Raven Boys, and so many other books on your list this year. Haven’t read Reached yet though!

    • I would be interested to know what you think of Reached when you read it–let me know. I almost forgot about The Disenchantments with this list since I read it early in the year–I might need to re-read (because I TOTALLY have the time for re-reads). 😉

  4. So many good ones on your list! I just received a copy of False Memory. May have to tear into that soon!

    • Yeah, I’m dying for the second book and there are ARCs floating around out in the world that I need to track down. I think you’ll enjoy it! Thanks for hosting the blogfest, by the way–love it!

  5. You’ve got some really great books on your list–some that are on mine too, and others that I’ve yet to read. I don’t know how I missed putting SUCH A RUSH on my TBR list. I promptly went over to Goodreads and added it after reading your picks, so thanks for that! 🙂

    • Can’t beat Jennifer Echols, right?! I don’t know how she gives each character such unique, wonderful activities/hobbies. I imagine her painstakingly researching, or being a true Jack of All Trades, that Jennifer Echols. 😉

  6. Every Day is one of those books I’m just so antsy to read but can’t seem to find the time for. Aaah, must fix that! Love your choices 🙂

  7. Gah! I struggled so hard to narrow some of these categories down to just one book. I totally should have gone your route instead. 🙂 I’m definitely picking up some of the titles you’ve mentioned that I’ve not read yet. Especially Love and Leftovers. I remember the cover reveal for that one, but then I kinda forgot about it. I forgot how stinkin’ cute it looks.

    • Love and Leftovers is a super quick read, too. 🙂 I will totally defy the rules in the name of spreading the word about good books and fangirling over my favorites! 😉

  8. Such a Rush and The Disenchantments almost made an appearance on my Head of Class picks but didn’t quite get there. Loved those books though!

  9. Love your picks! Every Day, The Fault In Our Stars, and The Disenchantments–so much love for those! The Raven Boys, too! I agree with you, absolutely no idea how they get this stuff. I just want it ALL 🙂

  10. I ended up choosing a steampunk novel for my historical fiction (Something Strange and Deadly), so I understand. I just have an easier time getting into adult historical fiction!

    I managed to choose only one per category, but it was really, really difficult. And I, too, will be very redundant this week.

    • That makes me feel better that others might be repetitive like me. 🙂 I read nothing even close to historical fiction, so I need to branch out (I’ve never read steampunk–I’ll have to give it a go!).

  11. I haven’t read most of your picks (…yet!) but I really loved MY LIFE NEXT DOOR! In fact, this reminds me I need to grab a copy for a friend for Christmas…

  12. Good call using New Adult books in the Genre Bender category… I didn’t even think of doing that! We have lots of book overlap here. We obviously both have awesome taste in YA. One of your picks that I haven’t read but definitely want to is THE LIST… I’ve heard great things!

    • Reading the Goodreads reviews I was surprised at some of the 3/3.5 ratings, but I think you would like it. Not big on romance at all, but just REAL high school, I felt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

