Wordstock 2012

I am hooked, people! Wordstock is a week-long festival in Portland and it is wonderful. I tweeted right after arriving that I’d found my people. Wordstock is for book lovers, writers, readers, teachers, even students.
http://novelnovice.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/wordstock-chair1.jpgI looked into volunteering at Wordstock during the summer but didn’t sign up because there was a home football game for WSU and I thought I would be heading to Pullman. When those dreams were dashed a couple of weeks out from the festival, I started to think about Wordstock again. I found out Entangled author Lisa Burstein was doing a reading and would be part of a separate panel. I thought I would love to go support Lisa, and really had no idea what the festival was about, otherwise. I bought a ten-dollar (!), two-day book fair pass; author panels and readings are free with the purchase of that book fair/exhibition pass.

Lisa was reading was Katie Kacvinsky at 2:00 on the YA stage. Both are local Oregon authors and both have great books to talk about! Lisa read from Pretty Amy and the audience laughed in all the right places and seemed to enjoy the excerpt. Katie and Lisa both write contemporary YA that can be gritty at times and they spoke to, during the Q & A, ways they’ve been censored and edited.
https://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1330899178l/13375237.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/4.bp.blogspot.com/-Z-9VNtC9cA0/UHbKAY5EDmI/AAAAAAAAI2I/hujALATuX7Q/s1600/First_Comes_pbk+cover.jpg

I was waiting for the 5 PM panel that Lisa and Katie were part of again, so I stayed in the YA room to catch another Entangled author, Inara Scott, and Steve Brezenoff. The next hour I was able to see Tonya Hurley and Lish McBride.

The panel was just awesome: Lisa, Katie, and David Levithan spoke to “Keeping it Real” in YA Literature. They talked about the amount of romance in YA, the paranormal/vampire trend, etc. Levithan commented about how the “Team Peeta/Team Gale thing” in The Hunger Games surprised him, and said “I’m pretty sure they had bigger problems.” 🙂 Also, he talked about how good books are about relationships not romance. The Hunger Games books are at the top of my all-time favorite books ever list and hearing him talk about editing (as an aspiring editor) was intriguing. Oh, also, he dabbles in writing and read from Every Day and it was lovely! Lisa and Katie read again, as well, with great feedback from the crowd!

Sunday we stuck around until 1:00 because I wanted to see Tamara Ireland Stone. I read Time Between Us back in July but when Tamara presented at Wordstock the book had only been out for a week. I adored TBU and Stone didn’t disappoint as she explained some of her inspiration for the story and (YAY!) mentioned that there would be a second book about Bennett and Anna. There was a potential to stay late for a panel that Tamara was part of, and to hear Levithan at 5:00, but my husband and I decided to head home.

Hearing authors read from their books and talk about their writing is a beautiful thing. I came home with First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky, Every Day by David Levithan, Blessed by Tonya Hurley, Fathomless by Jackson Pearce, and Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone (I loved the book so much I bought a copy for my home book shelf). Those books were purchased at the YA book store, prepared by Green Bean Books. I plan to visit their store next time we go to Portland as they specialize in Children’s and YA books, and who doesn’t love to support an indie? I bought Jellicoe Road and The Raven Boys at Powells books because any time my husband and I are in Portland we HAVE to go to Powells. Patrick came home with 7 books, so I know we’re a good match. 😉
https://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1335900520l/13262783.jpghttps://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1336153473l/11985913.jpghttps://i0.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1331920974l/9943228.jpg

In addition to meeting authors and getting books signed, I met Sara Gundell, who, in addition to being the Wordstock YA/MG Author Coordinator, also runs Novel Novice (I really don’t think she has enough on her plate–she’s also planning a wedding!). Of course my phone was dying Saturday so I don’t have any pictures of these great meetings! It’s a fun thing meet other bookish minded people who love literature as much as you.

Sincere thanks from me to all who were involved with Wordstock and were responsible for the planning! I’ve been spreading the word about it and hope to volunteer next year. 🙂
PhotoGrid_1354496699935

3 Comments

Filed under Bookish

3 responses to “Wordstock 2012

  1. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey | Keep Calm and Kari On

  2. Pingback: Currently… | Keep Calm and Kari On

  3. Pingback: Wordstock 2013 | Keep Calm and Kari On

Leave a Reply

