Two Months Later, Here I Am!

Oh my little bloggy blog, you’ve been neglected! I’m proud of myself for always being able to prioritize items in my life, but feel bad for the community and sharing for two months. CURRENTLY (see this post by Katy Upperman for the chain of inspiration):

Loving…
School! Can you believe it? I am loving work. It’s still early, but I am just clicking with the kids and they’re doing their work. It’s like magic! 🙂


Also, I’m loving Imagine Dragons music. If you know me, I love music and will listen to my “Now” playlist on heavy repeat and Imagine Dragons is dominating. Here’s On Top of the World, which I adore. 🙂 Oh, and this new One Direction song that I’m pretty sure is scandalous but I love it anyway.

Reading…
Also school related, but I read Kelly Gallagher’s Write Like This and it’s rocking my world! Also got to read Lisa Burstein’s Dear Cassie a second time. I just love the book world and working with an author early in the process is an great experience (and an honor!). I have had little to no time for reading published books or e-galleys, but the things I’m reading in the meantime have been satiating my need… my need to read.

Watching…
Dexter started again last night, which I’m pretty pumped about. Also, I have gotten into Glee again. To me, the character shake-ups are exactly what the show needed, although I’m not crazy about the music this season. I’m eagerly awaiting Community‘s return on October 19th. Oh, and I’m a little ashamed to admit I watch this:

Thinking About…
Banned Books Week and working reading into my classroom in the coming weeks as we start Free Read Fridays and start reading the first novel of the year, Fahrenheit 451. I love reading, and now is the time that I teach my students about the utter importance of reading. Sometimes they just don’t let you in, in terms of recommending something you KNOW they could love, though.


Anticipating…

Just got my tickets to the Lady Gaga concert for January 14th! I also go to see Madonna this week in Seattle, and with one of my dear friends. I am more excited for Gaga than Madonna but I think both will be great shows. I just need Madonna to sing some of her old standards, despite that she’s a constantly-evolving-mega-artist (We get it, Madonna. Please just sing Like a Prayer and Open Your Heart, okay?).

Wishing…
I didn’t just spend a week upset about a some things in my life that are out of my control. Sorry for the vague “what’s wrong and why won’t she tell us” kind of comment that we all love, but there it is. 🙂 

And, I wish that there was more time in the day. If I get only one wish, it’s that I had more time to do all the things I need to do!

Making Me Happy…
Family and friends, obvi. 🙂

My closest teaching friends that I get to see every day at work!

My leadership camp friends, who are definitely a support system outside of that one week each summer.

My family in Sweden for my brother’s wedding in June last year.

My beatidul sister in law and me!

Last but not least, my wonderful husband (and me on our 5th anniversary this summer in Leavenworth, WA). He makes me laugh and makes every day special. Love, love, LOVE.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Two Months Later, Here I Am!

  1. Tara

    OMG! LOVE your organization on your whiteboard. I have a teensy weensy one…I miss having so much room at my old school. Also, I TOTALLY love the Cowboys Cheerleaders show. I cannot get enough, ever! I will just sit and watch reruns! Thanks for the update!

    • Our building is only four years old so we’re pretty lucky with the space (in terms of white boards) and other resources they’ve provided! My DVR is definitely erradic, with the DCC show, Community, Real Housewives, Dexter, How the States Got Their Shape, etc. A little bit of everything for me. 😉

  2. Tara

    Oh, another thing…saw Gaga in concert (3 months pregnant, even) and I LOVED her!!!! SOOOO awesome!!! It was my wedding gift. So fun! You’ll love it. I’m jealous you saw Madonna, but it sounds like I didn’t miss anything if she wasn’t singing the classics.

  3. Yay! So happy to see you blogging again!!! My Imagine Dragons Pandora station is my favorite right now!

  4. Love all the fun photos, especially the one of your classroom. Have fun at Madonna. Not someone country-loving Katy would see, but she is the Material Girl, after all. A true legend. 🙂

  5. I love Kelly Gallagher. He’s local to me and my friend teaches with him…can you imagine? I’ll have to check out this book.

    • Uh, WHAT?! K.G. is a teaching rockstar in my book. I wish I could be a fly on the wall in his classroom because I don’t know how he does it all. We’ve done a couple book studies on his different books. Definitely check it out!

Leave a Reply

