Friday Five

The Olympics – They’re HERE! I will be watching. I’m particularly a fan of women’s gymnastics, swimming, and women’s beach volleyball. In case you missed it, I’ve been listening to Survival by Muse, which is the official song of the London 2012 Olympics. 🙂

The Music – Speaking of songs that are on repeat on my iPod, I’ve been listening to Cher Lloyd’s Want U Back and No Doubt’s Settle Down. I am a shameless listener of bubble gum pop and I do not apologize for songs like Want U Back and Call Me, Maybe being on my iPod. 😉 As for No Doubt, I want to BE Gwen Stefani (her body after two kids = insane) and the song is just fun.

The Poll – NPR is hosting their annual literature-based poll, this year asking readers what the best YA reads might be. Check out the list and vote here. You can also just use NPR’s compilation of the 100 titles to build your TBR list (like I did). I *think* I voted for:
Before I Fall, by Lauren Oliver
Chaos Walking series, by Patrick Ness
Divergent series, by Veronica Roth
Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury
The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green
Go Ask Alice, by Anonymous
The Hunger Games series, by Suzanne Collins
– Jessica Darling series, by Megan McCafferty
– Lola and the Boy Next Door, by Stephanie Perkins
– Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson

The Reading – So I’ve been doing a lot of reading. I’m fortunate to fill my Kindle with e-galleys from Edelweiss and Net Galley, so I’ve been reading great books before they’re released! This week I finished The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore (I gave 3 of 5 stars on Goodreads) and Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas (3.5 of 5 on Goodreads). Earlier in the month I also finally jumped on the Jessica Darling bandwagon and read Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty, which I adored (4 of 5 stars)! Gotta love being a teacher: seriously, most publishers offer e-galleys to teachers if they follow the rules and have a review outlet, and of course I have summer vacation to do a lot of reading.

The anniversary – This is important, people. No, not my wedding anniversary that occurred on July 7th (5 years, baby!), but the one year anniversary where I began my books/publishing adventure! I’ve been on Goodreads one whole year this month, and my Twitter anniversary is next month. I just have to say that following all the authors, agents, publishers and editors on Twitter has been a lot of fun. The literary community is smart, entertaining, and informative. Informative on so many levels, too. I’ve adopted new shows on TV and added great books to my TBR pile, read interesting breaking news, I’ve won books and book swag from blog and Twitter contests, discovered what ARC and all kinds of other publishing and writing lingo means, got my internship with Entangled, and most importantly have made some new friends. YAY, social media!

You all might appreciate that the building in the back is the Puyallup Public Library. 🙂

And hey, here’s some pictures from the blessed event five years ago. The first two pictures are “day afters” taken in Seattle two days after the wedding. Credit to Fred Calma, a wonderful Seattle-Tacoma area photographer!

6 Comments

Filed under About me, Friday Five, Music, Review

6 responses to “Friday Five

  1. Aww, love the wedding pics! And your top ten is fantastic. We had some overlap with BEFORE I FALL and THE HUNGER GAMES. (Though, you’re totally missing HARRY POTTER on your list!) Have a great weekend, Kari!

    • The wedding pics make me miss the wedding. I have told Patrick I would get married many times over (to him each time) if it meant throwing a fun party like that and getting dressed up. 😉

  2. BEAUTIFUL pictures Kari! 😀 I really need to check out the NPR list…Hope you´re enjoying your Friday!

    • Thanks! Yes, visit the NPR poll and peruse that list. It made me feel good about what I HAVE read, and made me realize that I need to go back and re (or re-read) some classic YA fiction. 🙂

  3. Kari, SLOPPY FIRSTS is my fave YA contemp ever. I’m so hesitant to read Throne of Glass b/c I read the original way back when (2008 online) and it seems like she changed a lot (it was originally a Cinderella retelling). Guess I’ll wait til next week to see if I like the first few pages.

    • Rachel, did you read ToG yet? I’m wondering what you think as an original reader. I liked it and look forward to the next book, but didn’t love it, you know? Now knowing that it was originally a Cinderella retelling helps me with my reading… I think a lot of the people reading it didn’t know that’s how it began, because reading the reviews some were angry about some of the dress-up, girlie situations for this badass assassin.

      I JUST read SECOND HELPINGS and am so in love with Jessica Darling and Megan McCafferty. I am hesitant to read Charmed Thirds because I’m so worried about Marcus and Jessica and their future together! 😉

Leave a Reply

