BMM Tuesday #1

The prompt for Tuesdays of Sara McClung‘s Blog Me, MAYbe blogfest, is MAY I tell you something about myself?


I have shared that I’m a 9th grade English teacher in a junior high setting and that I really enjoy my job most days. Obviously I don’t blog much in connection to school. What brings me to blogging is my interest in Young Adult Literature as a teacher, but mostly as a reader.

As a starting off point, here’s an A to Z survey, found by my friend Katy Upperman and it originates on this blog.

A is for age: 31 years young! 30s ain’t no thang.

B is for breakfast today: Bacon breakfast sandwich and iced tea from Starbucks.

C is for currently craving: I’m stuffed–nothing! I had two cookies after dinner which was probably my craving before eating. 🙂

D is for dinner tonight: Tacos!

E is for favorite type of exercise: Boot camp–BC changes it up every time and I like the variety and the challenge.

F is for an irrational fear: The dark!? It’s just a sort-of phobia, but I think that qualifies. Public transportation. I’m not a fan and I’m okay not using it.

G is for gross food: I’m such a picky eater–anything. Mushrooms, slimy seafood, chunky peppers (although I don’t mind them in moderation), etc.

H is for hometown: Puyallup, WA. I’m a Washingtonian at heart!

I is for something important: My family–my husband, mom, dad, brother and sister-in-law. I adore them and we get to spend a lot of time with them, for which I am so grateful.

J is for current favorite jam: Raspberry preserves. Or The Beatles, depending on what jam we’re talking about.

K is for kids: Someday, hopefully.

L is for current location: Tacoma, WA. We get a bad rap (rep?) but this is the home of the high school featured in 10 Things I Hate About You which I think is amazeballs. 🙂

M is for the most recent way you spent money: Groceries.

N is for something you need: My family, my friends… on a lighter note I need more time and more money. If anyone knows where to find those let me know. 🙂

O is for occupation: 9th grade English teacher, Entangled Publishing intern

P is for pet peeve: Ignorance

Q is for a quote: “It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart.” -Suzanne Collins

R is for random fact about you: I wear my engagement ring on my wedding ring finger and my actual wedding ring on my right hand. They are completely different rings but I love them both!

S is for favorite healthy snack: Raw almonds

T is for favorite treat: Fro yo!

U is for something that makes you unique: (according to my husband) I’m unique because I’m covered in moles/beauty marks. Thanks, babe? Or he says that I’m always covered in glitter (this is the plague of being a leadership teacher where my students regularly handle glitter). 🙂 Plus I love sparkles and shiny stuff so it’s only appropriate.

V is for favorite vegetable: Carrots

W is for today’s workout: No comment. 🙂

X is for X-rays you’ve had: I’ve never broken a bone but have the standard, very cool teeth/mouth x-rays.

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Spending time walking on the waterfront with my friend Becky (and her son Jett) for the first time in weeks.

Z is for your time zone: Pacific, baby! The land of spoilers on Twitter (I basically stay away from like 5-8 my time on the nights of favorite shows).

12 Comments

Filed under About Blogging, About me, Blog Me MAYbe

12 responses to “BMM Tuesday #1

  1. Ooh… You made me crave fro yo! So glad you did the survey, Kari, and yay for Blog Me MAYbe!

  2. Hmmmm tacos 😀 Yum! great quote too! I also did the survey for the first day of Blogme MAYbe, so much fun!

  3. I love this survey! Maybe I’ll fill it out next Tuesday 🙂

    Also, heck yeah for being in our 30s. I swear the day I woke up on my 30th I felt AWESOME! And I love that Suzanne Collins quote. It’s so, so true.

  4. Didn’t know that about Tacoma/Ten Things I Hate About You–I love that movie! Oh, and I’m sort of afraid of the dark, too. Not even the dark so much as what is lurking in the dark. Usually it doesn’t bother me until my husband is away, lol.

  5. Mmm, I could go for some fro yo right now. And I loved that movie. I STILL can’t believe Heath Ledger is dead. He was SO alive, so young…my brain refuses to believe he’s not still around.
    (also, I HATE mushrooms, too. Blech. They taste like the fungus they are in the worst way.)

    • I know, it’s hard to believe he’s gone. It’s weird to stand on those bleachers/steps and imagine him being there and not “out there” any more. I know there has to be other things I hate more than mushrooms, but those are up there. 😉

  6. Boot camp? That made my thighs burn just thinking about it! And Fro yo used to be one of my favorites – until I got old and ugh and well, let’s just say that fro yo and I are not friends. Not by choice either.

    Great start to BMM! I did my A-Z, all about me today too! Great minds!

    • Hi Alison! Yes, just ready the words boot camp does give a sort of physical reaction, doesn’t it? 🙂 I’m actually taking this session off and I miss it, though!

Leave a Reply

