Memorable Monday #6

Memorable Monday is a meme originated by Escape in a Book and is an opportunity to share your favorite quotes from books.

I don’t have time to do the usual formatted quote, so I’m throwing this one down a day late just to be sure to share. 🙂 Since reading Will Grayson, Will Grayson and The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, I want to read more John Green. His writing is special. So I started Looking for Alaska a couple of weeks ago, and have been reading at a snail’s pace thanks to everything ELSE in my life now. I don’t even have time for a real citation and this is killing me. 😉

“‘It’s not because I want to make out with her.’
‘Hold on.’ He grabbed a pencil and scrawled excitedly at the paper as if he’d just made a mathematical breakthrough and then looked back up at me. ‘I just did some calculations, and I’ve been able to determine that you’re full of shit.’ ”  

I wanted to do a fun quote because I haven’t done FUN in a while. 🙂 I’m not done with Looking for Alaska and am not sure when I’ll finish but it’s pretty great! I think I like TFiOS more, though.

For her TFiOS YA Book Club report, Rebecca Behrens said: “I’d describe the books by John Green (that I’ve read: Looking for Alaska; Will Grayson, Will Grayson; and now The Fault in Our Stars) as contemporary YA, but at the same time I don’t know if I’d describe them as completely realistic contemporary YA. This is not a criticism–it’s actually a distinction I consider a huge compliment. I’m envious of Green’s writing (aren’t we all, really) and particularly the way he writes characters/situations/settings/dialogue/etc. that are both authentic and elevated.” And she’s 100% right. I adore John Green’s writing!

I’m going to a conference for ASB/leadership advisors for four days and I’m part of the board that has planned the conference, so I’ll “see” you all probably for next Monday. I don’t think I’ll squeak out a Friday Five.  PEACE!

2 Comments

Filed under Memorable Monday

2 responses to “Memorable Monday #6

  1. Oh, yes! I totally agree with Rebecca Behrens. John Green’s writing is wonderful. I have to say that I only read The Fault in Our Stars yet, but I won Looking for Alaska in a book giveaway and can’t wait until it’s going to arrive over here. I also heard that TFiOS is his best book so far, so I’m a little worried what I’ll think about the other ones… but still can’t wait to read them.

    The quote is awesome. I love the one with a deeper meaning as much as these funny ones 🙂

  2. Fun quote! 😀

    I need to read more John Green…I have only read TFiOS and as you know I really loved it: the way I fell in love with the characters, the dialogues and the writing.

    Enjoy the conference 😀

Leave a Reply

