Friday Five

Today is Men in Black day for spirit week. 8th graders are aliens and 9th graders are agents. This is a handful of the staff from my school who dressed up last year! I'm in back, directly under the cougar paw. Go Cougs!

The tasting tour – Look at my cute family at our whiskey and wine tour last weekend! We drove up to Woodinville (WA) for the Woodinville Whiskey Company tasting, which turns out is just taking shots. I guess that makes sense (I’ve been wine tasting a few times), but when you finally belly up to the bar and it’s noon, you realize you’re taking shots in the middle of the day and it’s sort of random! Three shots–er, tastings–later, we walked two doors down to Tefft Cellars Tasting Room, a company with a killer huckleberry wine (that I remembered from previous tours in eastern WA). Paul (kneeling, bottom right) was a great host and we had a lot of fun. There are so many options for touring and tasting in Woodinville, including Red Hook brewery (call ahead, they’re always packed), Columbia winery, and Chateau Ste. Michelle winery.

The Kony situation – a former leadership kid (now a high school senior) and my current ASB president and vice president met with me after school last week to discuss what could be done about Kony. Do you guys know how amazing “kids” can be? They’d all done their research and knew about the controversy with Invisible Children. They were researching how to “cover the night” without breaking laws about vandalism. Overall, students are fired up (despite the fact this whole situation is rooted in drama, now) and no matter what it’s impressive to see a kid who doesn’t appear to give a rip about anything else care about the abuse of children in a foreign country.

The music inspired books – Oh, how I love music. Thanks to Galley Grab I read Being Friends with Boys last month. This month I read The Disenchantments, which was highly recommended by my friend Katy, who knows me so well. 🙂 One of my All Time Favorite Movies is Almost Famous and the movie is so rock and roll but also whimsical, which was totally The Disenchantments. And, talk about a book where every character is colorful and important–such a wonderful support cast. My Goodreads reviews of BFWB and TD are forthcoming (see the following for further explanation).

The craziness that is my schedule – Been a little busy, so I haven’t really read much lately, and I didn’t even post a Friday Five last week ( did you miss me?). 😉 I’ve been at school until 5:00 five days in the last two weeks (contract ends at 2:40) and it’s just that crazy time of year! My four-day leadership adviser’s conference takes place next week, and the National Boards retake is due by April 15th. I’ve been out of the classroom once a week and anyone who’s a teacher knows what a beast sub plans can be. The good news is that days like today, when kids are working hard with their writing, I ADORE my job and know I’ve done it well. Today was a good day (cue Ice Cube – NOT safe for work). It’s okay, I’m super Kari (or super Coug–another spirit day outfit):

The Hunger Games – It’s here, folks! Well, in a week. I may not see it opening weekend, can you believe that? I am starting to think this would be a good thing, as I’m not sure how I would deal with crazies quoting lines they “know” from the trailer, etc. ANYway, take a look at these beauts on Etsy! Also, the series that started it all for me (More Scholastic! Recently pulled from my parents’ attic). 🙂
 
The Proposal (Bonus Friday Five Factoid): My husband proposed on St. Patrick’s Day in 2006. 🙂
No plans for this year… what do you have planned for St. Patty’s Day?

6 Comments

Filed under About me, Friday Five

6 responses to “Friday Five

  1. Oh my… I have so much to say about this post. 1 – Your schedule is INSANE, and I have no idea how you do it. 2 – Next time you go wine/whiskey tasting, I want to come. 3 – I KNEW you’d love The Disenchantments! That books is freaking fantastic! 4 – The BSC = Awesome. It was also the series that got me reading, and I sincerely wish I still had my collection. 5 – Those Toms are aMaZiNg!

    Have a great weekend, Kari!

    • 2 – YES, we should actually plan something in terms of tasting. It was a lot of fun and there’s lots to do in Woodinville.
      3 – The Disenchantments – seriously, I fell in love with all the characters and I don’t know a lot of books where I’ve done that. And I fell in love with the road trip idea. And the Portland/WA connection. …
      4 – I don’t have the complete BSC collection but I’m glad I kept what I have. That, and my box of My Little Ponies made the cut. 🙂
      5

  2. I’m doing a BSC re-read right now…Super Special #1! It’s just as awesome as I remember it. 🙂

  3. The tasting sounds fantastic and like you had a wonderful time!
    My hubby also proposed on St Patrick´s Day…:D

Leave a Reply

