Friday Four


The Award
– The Association of WA School Principals and WA Association of Student Councils named me Middle Level Leadership Advisor of the Year for Washington! Such a huge honor for something that is a major part of my teaching life. I love teaching English, but I also have one leadership class and those kids do so. much. work. I work with them to plan dances, assemblies, service projects and recognition projects for the school. You’ve heard the expression it’s like herding cats? Sometimes it feels like that. So, that was a great way to start my week!

Don't you think daisies are the friendliest flower? In my school colors, no less. 🙂

The Writing – No, I’m not a writer but I am doing a lot of writing (which is why I’ve been internet shy the last week or so) for my National Board certification. I am retaking two portfolio entries and this is ruling my life these days (due April 15th). So, wish me luck as I descend into a writing cave on Saturday!

The Reading – I have also had to reduce my amount of reading the last week or two. Thanks to Simon and Schuster Galley Grab, I am reading Being Friends with Boys and am digging it. I love that the main character is in a band (as a music lover). I have five–count ’em, FIVE–manuscripts to tackle this weekend for Stacy at Entangled Publishing, as well. I’m loving all this, but March Madness is in full effect for me, and it has nothing to do with basketball. For the first time in a long time I have books I’ve purchased just waiting for me on my Kindle or on the shelf (including another music-related book, The Disenchantments) and I am not touching them! Such willpower!!

The Quotes – Don’t forget that I participate in Memorable Monday, where I post a memorable or special quote from something I’ve read. Check back in on Monday!

I think that’s all I have for you all! What’s eating up all your time these days?

6 Comments

Filed under Friday Five

6 responses to “Friday Four

  1. I’m so excited about your award, Kari! Seriously well-deserved! And those flowers are beautiful. Good luck with the NB cert. When you’re all done and stress-free (yeah, right!) we’ll plan our triple date. 🙂

  2. Congrats on the award, Kari 😀 It sounds like your students are lucky to have you!
    Good luck with the NB certification!

    • Thanks, Elodie! It’s a lot of work and I wish I wasn’t resubmitting but hopefully I’ll be rewarded with certification (I won’t know until November). :-/

  3. Congratulations on your award! So awesome! 😀

Leave a Reply

