Friday Five

The reading – I had this week off from school so I did some reading! I finally finished Patrick Ness’ A Monster Calls, and finished The Fine Art of Truth or Dare by Melissa Jensen and The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Click on the respective titles to see my Goodreads reviews.

The bunny eggs – It’s that time of year and the Cadbury Bunny eggs are a problem! I am trying to stay away, but right now they are definitely my kryptonite. I have a similar problem during Christmas with mint M&Ms!

The Fault in Our Stars – Check out my YA Book Club review here. If you haven’t read the book yet you won’t want to visit that link. 🙂 I gave the book 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads and adored the whole novel. John Green has a gift for writing compelling, interesting, intelligent young adults. This book was not predictable and required (for me) probably a half a box of tissue. But, its beautiful and not just sad, I promise.

The shopping – I usually only shop online, but at least this time once a year, after my birthday, my mom and I get together, brave the mall, do lunch and get me a new purse. I seriously do only one purse a year. 🙂 I did also get a fun new zip-up sweatshirt, as part of my ongoing quest to acquire sweatshirts not emblazoned with WSU or my junior high school. For those of you that know me, you’ll be happy to know the purse has sparkle and the sweatshirt is ruffly. 🙂

The Hunger Games – My wonderful, amazing husband got me the Colours from the Capitol nail polish from China Glaze for Valentines Day. So excited. I’ve finally conceded that I will not see the movie until the first night it’s released… and I didn’t buy tickets this Thursday at midnight so I might even have to wait until SATURDAY the 24th of March. 😉 I’ve been reading a lot of lists that say “If you liked The Hunger Games, you might like…” so I thought I’d finally create my own.

I might need a couple of these for my desk to join my Marcus Trufant and Bill Shakespeare action figures. 🙂

If you liked The Hunger Games, I recommend:

  • Divergent by Veronica Roth – An unhealthy obsession toward these books may be growing within, as well! Tris is a strong, fierce female main character set in a dystopic Chicago of the future. What would you choose of the Dauntless, Amity, Abnegation, Candor, Erudite factions if you had to live in one society that defined you and your personality? Insurgent, the second book of the trilogy, is released on May 1st and you can read an excerpt here! Check out these awesome drawings of characters from talented artist Simini Blocker.
  • The Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness – So good. Sooooo good! I am a huge fan of Ness’ writing. He is wonderfully descriptive (I could picture this futuristic, yet almost pastoral setting). Imagine a society of only men, and where you can see/hear everyone’s thoughts, including those of the animals. I just can’t write anymore… and I’m thinking I want to reread these books next!
  • Matched by Ally Condie – This is just the first book of a trilogy. Crossed came out in November (pretty good follow-up) and the third book is set to be released in November 2012.
  • I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore – (More sci fi, but it is still YA and still awesome.) There’s some social commentary and superhero-like powers and I loved it. Pittacus Lore is actually a character mentioned in the book and this is the first of a series of five. I also read The Power of Six, the next book in the series, which was an effective follow up but not as strong. P.S. the movie was horrible, in my humble opinion, compared to the book. This is not me being a book snob, this is REAL, people!
  • Recommendations from Twitter/other friends: Maze Runner trilogy, Uglies series (recommended by a student!) by Scott Westerfeld, Legend by Marie Lu, Across the Universe (series) by Beth Revis
3 Comments

Filed under Friday Five

3 responses to “Friday Five

  1. Cadbury Eggs are pretty much the best thing ever.

  2. Pingback: Book Blogger Challenge (Day 11) | Keep Calm and Kari On

Leave a Reply

