Friday Five

The sickness – The crud is going around and I got my share last weekend. I missed a day of school, reluctantly, to get better. I hate, sometimes, that I have so much going on at school (leadership class stuff) that I don’t feel like I can stay home to take care of myself! Alas, I stayed home anyway, and am finally back to 100%. 🙂

The surprise awesome read – I gave 4.5 of 5 stars to Sarah Trejay’s Love and Leftovers, a YA contemporary fiction written in verse. LOVED it. I think a lot of my appreciation from the novel stemmed from thinking I could never like (let alone LOVE) a book in poetry, but alas, I did. 🙂

The dark side – So I’ve read a couple of manuscripts the last couple weeks and they’ve been super dark! I have read about teen pregnancy, rape, sex-for-drugs scandals, runaways, cutting, physically abusive parents, suicide, and your run of the mill teenaged drinking and drug use. As a teacher I’ve definitely seen and heard about these issues truly impacting teens but this string of manuscripts has been a little Debbie Downer overwhelming to me! I’m a pretty positive-every-cloud-has-a-silver-lining kind of person and even though I know literature should suspend me from that reality I guess being hit over the head with drama isn’t entertaining to me. What do you think–is dark YA on its way?

The Twilight saga – Ah, I finally watched all the movies! I was holding out to read the books first (as a book snob, it’s only right!) but caved in this weekend while I was sick and home alone. With all the hoopla surrounding the Breaking Dawn Part 1 release, and knowing what I know about the plot from some friends, I was intrigued. I now know I’m not really a Kristen Stewart fan, and I can’t even really get on board with R Patt. I just don’t do forlorn or teenaged angst very well. 🙂 I don’t think I ever could have been a Twilight fangirl and I am definitely not now, but glad to at least be able to know what people are talking about when they reference the series. PS I take no issue with sparkling vamps–I LOVE glitter. 😉

The YA Book Club – I’m joining a book club (and you can, too)! Tracey Neithercott hosts a YA Book Club and it’s very easy to participate. On February 24th I’ll be posting my thoughts about The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

2 Comments

Filed under Friday Five

2 responses to “Friday Five

  1. Glad you’re feeling better! I’ve somehow managed to elude the crud (knock on wood), but I’ve heard it’s miserable. And I’m so glad you’re joining in on the YA Book Club. It’s really fun, and a great way to “meet” new readers/writers. Have a great weekend! 🙂

    • Started the book today and couldn’t put it down for quite some time! I have to get on the whole following blogs/Google reader thing, too, to connect with others. Hope you had a great b-day!

Leave a Reply

