Friday Five

The Reads – Not much has changed on this front. I am still in-progress with a number of books. This weekend and especially a week from now when I’m on Mid-Winter Break–a week off–will provide some much needed R&R (Relaxing & Reading) time. 🙂 I did finish The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and gave it 5 of 5 stars on Goodreads. It was the first book I’ve read in a while that I felt was strong writing, not just a “fun” read (although it was that, too). 

5 of 5 stars

The Reads (cont.) – With my students, we’re in a wonderful place: studying character and theme in To Kill a Mockingbird. Kids GET this book. Kids LIKE this book. They don’t always get it initially (some of you may have seen my tweets about how they believe that the Finch family is black or that Calpurnia is a slave in the 1930s) but they get it by the end of the novel, and to see their ah-ha moments is pretty great. I love the human spirit and character conversations that we have during this unit. Just wanted you all to know I’m in a great teacher place. 🙂

The (crazy) Week – I haven’t been on Twitter much or blogging at all because I’ve been so busy with school. Friday we had our second semester shake-up, where we keep all the same students but our classes mix up. Monday grades were due (always a process for me), Tuesday I prepared for Wednesday’s Middle Level Regionals leadership conference that my school hosted. I tell you what, you haven’t LIVED until you’ve gone to Fred Meyer for nine cases of water, 50 boxes of fruit snacks, etc. I spent many-a-night this weekend going to bed at geriatric hours or 7 or 8 PM and waking up around 4:30 AM. Cray!!

The Superbowl – I just wanted to say that I L-U-V Madonna and thought her performance was great, even if a little tame. She is 53, after all, and she DID perform my favorite song (as documented here on a Tuesday Tunes post of mine). I also watched for the pre-game The Hunger Games trailer viewing (yay for seeing it on the “big screen”) and loved this self-promotion NBC commercial with so many of my favs featured. 🙂

The LOVEly Books – **May be spoilers (if you haven’t read the books)** Due to at least three tweets asking Twitter what YA Romances are the best/greatest in the reader’s minds, I thought I would share my favorite YA pairs and YA romances. This is all in anticipation of Valentines Day, of course (which I am actually not a fan of, but I’ll play along for the sake of the books). 😉 Happy V-Day!

I started out writing descriptions of the relationships and what I loved about them but then scratched it all. I totally recommend all the following books, of course, as well.

  • Tris & Four in Divergent
  • Anna & Etienne in Anna and the  French Kiss
  • Lola & Cricket in Lola and the Boy Next Door
  • Anna & Matt in Twenty Boy Summer
  • Hadley & Oliver in The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight
  • Todd & Viola in The Chaos Walking Series
  • (I mean, I think I have to) Katniss & Peeta in The Hunger Games: I was Team Peeta from the beginning!

Steamy YA Romances!

  • Zoey & Doug in Forget You
  • Brittany & Alex in Perfect ChemistryWhat are some of your favorite YA couples and/or YA Romances?
3 Comments

Filed under Friday Five

3 responses to “Friday Five

  1. I always have to explain several times that Boo isn’t black. I think they assume he is just because he’s looked down upon. I don’t know. But, yeah, I love that they love it.

  2. I have to add the couple from LOVE AND LEFTOVERS by Sarah Tregay. This was a great story, friends, with emotion and heart!

Leave a Reply

