Friday Five

The reads – I have a problem. I have all these wonderful books and keep defaulting to a YA comtemporary fiction. BLARGH! So, I’m in-progress with some great books, and I finished Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally this week (review for CJ and Ten Things We Did, pending). This is my pattern… amble along with some books, devour a YA in three days. Michael Moore’s Here Comes Trouble, Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit From the Goon Squad are all in-progress. No major plans this weekend, other than the Super Bowl on Sunday so hopefully I’ll have a couple more completions to share. 🙂

The end of semester – This last week = CRAY! I have run the gamut of emotions when it comes to teaching this week. Tuesday I went home mentally and physically exhausted and even after two short days with finals, there’s just much to be done and it feels like not enough hours in the day (see my post yesterday about my blogging “career”).

The Hunger Games A) trailer, and B) on 30 Rock – Seriously… tears, heart palpitations, and all the other goods while watching this trailer. I admit I was not crazy about the casting at first but this movie has to KILL based on what I’ve seen. I cannot express my excitement over this movie. Total fangirl, total freak show when it comes to The Hunger Games. I’m loving Stanley Tucci, too (haven’t seen him before in any clips/pics/trailers).
I haven’t deleted the 30 Rock episode from my DVR because of this quick reference. 🙂 I adore Tina Fey and my The Hunger Games obsession is well documented (my family is concerned):

The upcoming trip – Vegas, baby! I’m just happy to say I’m getting out of town during spring break and with my family. The brother is turning 30 so it should be an adventure! I would like to see The Beatles Love show while I’m there… anything we need to do or see in Sin City? I haven’t been since 2004!

The John Green book event – I had no. idea. No idea. Monday night I attended his Seattle event with my friend Katy Upperman. What a great following John Green has, and a great following of young, enthusiastic people. I loved that aspect of it. I have to say, I felt a little out of my element because I don’t follow JG on the internet other than on Twitter. I became a fan of Green’s after reading Will Grayson, Will Grayson so I didn’t know a lot about his work with his brother, Hank, and the songs. All fun stuff, but I was not expecting the sold out crowd, the singing, and the general FUN. I’ve been to book events and have laughed, but it really was a show. I now have my signed copy of The Fault in Our Stars and look forward to reading it, of course! Katy and I didn’t wait in line to meet and greet, so thanks be to John Green for pre-signing a bagillion copies in advance. Also, thanks be to Third Place Books. What a great bookstore! I am dedicated to returning for some book browsing in the future. 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Friday Five

9 responses to “Friday Five

  1. Uh, yeah… that John Green event. Mind officially blown. I’m seriously questioning my nerd-status after seeing all of the TRUE nerds out in full force! It was fun to be surrounded by so much enthusiasm and book love, though. When you’re ready, let’s hit Third Place Books together. I love that store!

    • I have a week off later in the month (starts Friday the 17th) so we could even do a daytime TPB trip, maybe! We have each other’s information – we’ll be in touch. 🙂

  2. Yay Vegas! It’s my favorite place ever. I’m not big on suggestions, though, because I split my time between the bar and the blackjack table. 🙂

    • I wish I was a gambler! I have no idea how to do anything other than the slots. 🙂 I was disappointed to find out that The Beatles LOVE is not showing during that specific four days that I’ll be there, conveniently. 😦 I’ll just have to sit poolside and drink, instead!

  3. Pingback: Friday Five | Keep Calm and Kari On

  4. I just watched a video of John Green sharing his favorite (mostly) book typos last night. What a hoot that was! I’ve added this book to my TBR on GoodReads, but it’ll probably be a while until I get to it.

    Have you finished A Monster Calls? That was a rare book I swept through without even thinking of other books. Upon finishing it, it instantly became my favorite book of all time. I’m reading another Patrick Ness book now (the title escapes me), which, by virtue of how it’s told, was quite a jarring transition from AMC!

    • I SHOULD have finished A Monster Calls and haven’t–I have been super busy and it’s not as juicy as my YA romances that I love. I am a HUGE Ness fan after I read the Chaos Walking series…his writing is just so wonderful. I can’t wait to finish AMC. 🙂

      I’ll have to look for that John Green video–sounds right up my alley!

  5. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey | Keep Calm and Kari On

Leave a Reply

