Friday Five


The recovery (from the weather) – School kicked my butt this week! There is so much to do before the semester is over. Due to the 10 missed school days, four of which were unplanned, they did decide to push back the end of the semester. This means that other than the 20 minutes I’m taking to throw together this post, I am a grading machine!

The sleep deprivation – I don’t know what my problem is, but after lengthy vacations from school, it has been impossible for me to sleep the night before we head back to class. I had a measly THIRTY MINUTES before I got up to get ready for school on Monday morning. Luckily adrenalin got me through the day but the rest of the week = struggle!

The reading – I’m reading a manuscript, A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan, Here Comes Trouble nonfiction by Michael Moore, and A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. Patrick Ness is just amazing. I promise the book should be a faster read than I’m allowing it to be. As you can see, I’ve got a lot going on. 🙂 The illustrations (not by PN) are beautiful. Michael Moore–I realize, not always a popular guy–is entertaining and leads a fascinating life. I never use that word, fascinating. Truly though, I’ve been interested in him since I saw Bowling for Columbine in college. I thought, oh my gosh, TRUTH! His book doesn’t disappoint. I’ve only read the first chapter of Visit from the… and it’s one of those books where each chapter is told from the perspective of a different character (love those) so I only have one perspective. Well written and entertaining so far. Oh, and I finished Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mylnowski. I haven’t even entered it on Goodreads, yet, but it was a page turner!


The sorority – Do you like how I included this snippet after I proved I’m a motivated, busy, talented person? I’ll never forget when a good friend of mine at school said, “You were in a SORORITY?” like that made her think a little less of me! Today is Founders Day for the Kappa Alpha Theta fraternity. Yes, a sorority that is technically a fraternity. The term “sorority” had not yet been coined in 1870, apparently. I joined the Alpha Sigma chapter at Washington State University in 1999 and never looked back. It was a home away from home and was an incomparable experience. I’m proud of my experience–so much so that I felt the need to mention it here. 🙂

Sorority girlfriends at my wedding in 2007.

I lived here for three years. How beautiful is this gigantor house? A cook, all your closest friends, great proximity to other friends and the campus; it was a fabulous experience!

The weekend – I am so excited to see some of my favorite people at the Washington Activity Coordinator Association (WACA) board meeting at the beautiful Semiahmoo resort in Blaine, WA! Blaine is the last town in Washington on the WA-Canada border. Semiahmoo is a cozy seaside lodge-like resort. I get to road trip with three of my favorite people (2 hours) to Blaine, and then have a thoughtful, productive board meeting. All day. Seriously, not a bad way to spend approx. 30 hours.

6 Comments

Filed under Friday Five

6 responses to “Friday Five

  1. oooh want to read visit from the goon
    squad will be interested to see what you think 🙂

  2. Hello… sorority girls are AWESOME! 🙂

    You know, I always struggled to fall asleep on Sunday nights when I was teaching too, and the bad news is: I STILL do. So weird.

    Have fun at the WACA conference!

  3. I was in sorority, too (Alpha Chi Omgea), and it was one of the best experiences of my life.

Leave a Reply

