Memorable Monday #8

Memorable Monday is a meme originated by Escape in a Book and is an opportunity to share your favorite quotes from books.

Today’s quotes are from Insurgent by Veronica Roth. If you haven’t read Divergent or Insurgent, you HAVE to. Roth sets the scene for this trilogy in Chicago of the future, where the society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. At age 16 inhabitants take an aptitude test and decide which faction they will join in The Choosing Ceremony. So, yes, it’s dystopian and it’s futuristic and it’s a trilogy but it’s different from The Hunger Games and (dare I say) I actually like it more than THG at times! Not that I need to choose, but it’s that good. :-)

I finished Insurgent on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed it. No matter how great the writer, I always fear a sequel will fall flat or be predictable, but Roth didn’t lose any momentum with Insurgent. I think she has a gift for helping characters grow and develop even when we already “know” them.

Simini Blocker’s interpretation of Tris after Divergent.

“‘They each have an equal role in government; they each feel equally responsible. And it makes them care; it makes them kind. I think it’s beautiful.'” –Four in Insurgent

“‘Be careful, though.’ ‘Aren’t I always?’ ‘No, I think the word for how you usually are is reckless.'” –Exchange between Tris and Caleb in Insurgent 

6 Comments

Filed under Memorable Monday

6 responses to “Memorable Monday #8

  1. I loved both quotes. I was actually gifted a copy of Divergent, and I started it but had to set it aside for another read and I never picked it back up again. I really need to, don’t I? :)

    • Well I am glad I can keep pumping the young adult lit into your brain with MM. :-) I think Roth is a talented writer for sure. Sometimes I just like a book becaues it’s fun or a quick read with some romance, but Divergent and Insurgent have it ALL!

  2. I have to say that I neither read Divergent nor Insurgent yet, but the synopsis sounds amazing (well, theo ne for Divergent, I haven’t read the one for Insurgent yet as I don’t like spoilers;)). I liked The Hunger Games a lot and have read some other YA dystopian novels after that. Some are good, some aren’t as good as I hoped for, but this series really seems to be impressive. I’ve only heard good things about it.
    And the quotes you chose make me want to read these books even more. Thanks for sharing :)

    • Thanks, Miri! I am a fangirl of Roth and her writing, definitely. I like dystopian so much because it seems to connect to many things about our world today.

  3. Great quotes, Kari! :D I loved both books. I could not wait to get my hands on INSURGENT and it really didn´t disappoint!

    • Gotta love that, right? So much anticipation and then the book actually delivers! I loved it and can’t wait for the final book (DETERGENT, as she jokingly calls it on Twitter). ;-)

Leave a Reply

